Research Funding & GrantsYoung Investigator AwardsResearch Grants
The Young Investigator Awards enable young researchers to move forward with their breast cancer research. These awards come at a critical time in the careers of clinical breast cancer scientists and junior faculty members. All past Symposium attendees nominate the awardees.

Patrick Morris, MD - Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
2011 Brenda M. Williams Young Investigator Award for "A Retrospective to Investigate the Prognostic Impact of Inflammation in Women with Breast Cancer"

L. Chuck Harrell, PhD - Linegerger Comprehensive Cancer Center - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2011 Young Investigator Award for "Intrinsically Targeting Breast Cancer in Liver Metastasis"

Chloe C. Milson, PhD - Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Department of Cellular Biology, Toronto
2010 Brenda M. Williams Young Investigator Award for "Impact of Chemotherapy-Induced Activation of Platelets on Therapeutic Efficacy Outcomes in Breast Cancer"

Toby M. Ward, PhD, University of Miami, Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine, Department of Hematology/Oncology
2010 Young Investigator Award for "Truncated ErbB2 Receptors as Diagnostic and Therapeutic Targets"

Bushra Ateeq, PhD Research Fellow/Michigan Center for Translational Pathology / University of Michigan
2009 Young Investigator Award for "The Role of Antiotensin Type 1 Receptor (AGTR1) in a Subset of Breast Cancer"

Laura Gonzalez-Malerva, PhD /The Biodesign Institute /Arizona State University
2009 Young Investigator Award for "Functional Genomics and Proteomics for the Understanding of Endocrine Resistance in Breast Cancer"

Elizabeth Iorns, PhD / University of Miami, Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine
2008 Young Investigator Award for "Characterization of Breast Stem Cells for the Identification of Cancer Stem Cell Specific Therapeutic Targets"

Jinfeng Suo, PhD / Baylor College of Medicine, Lester and Sue Smith Breast Center
2008 Young Investigator Award for "Duo Regulation of Protein Synthesis and Degradation by the Int6 Breast Tumor Suppressor"

N. Lynn Henry, MD, PhD/University of Michigan
2007 Young Investigator Award for "Pilot Study to Characterize Musculoskeletal Changes with Ultrasonography in Women with Breast Cancer Treated with Aromatize Inhibitors"

Vijayakrishna K. Gadi, MD, PhD / University of Washington
2007 Young Investigator Award for "Fetal Microchimerism in Normal Human Breast and Breast Cancer"

Richard M. Neve, PhD/UCSF Comprehensive Cancer Center
2003 Young Investigator Award for "ESX: an epithelial-specific Ets transcription factor regulating the metastatic potential of human breast cancers"

Virginia Kaklamani, MD/ Northwestern University
2003 Young Investigator Award for "Familial Epidemiologic Study of Polymorphisms of the TGF-B Pathway and Familial Breast Cancer Risk"

Lisa Newman, MD/ Karmanos Cancer Institute
2001 Young Investigator Award for "Feasibility of Evaluating Breast Cancer Patients with Nipple Aspirates and Ductal Lavage"

Maureen Chung, MD/ Women And Infants Hospital, Providence, RI
2000 Young Investgator Award for "Development if RBCG-IL2MUCI Breast cancer Vaccine"

Daitoku Sakamuro, MD, The Wistar Institute
1999 Young Investigator Award for "Research in the area of tumorigenesis pathways including the novel Myc-interacting breast tumor suppressor protein, BIN1"

Olufunmilayo Olopade, MD, University Of Chicago School Of Medicine
1998 Young Investigator Award for "assessing the response to treatment of patients with known BRCA1 and BRCA 2 mutations"